COMPSAFE2020 Minisymposia

A minisymposium consists of one or more technical sessions that focus on a specific topic or research area in the scope of COMPSAFE. The technical sessions provide a flexible format that accommodates keynote lectures, invited, and contributed papers. Volunteer minisymposium organizers will develop each minisymposium individually. The organizers are responsible for the technical contents of their minisymposia; they select the invited participants, and review abstracts of contributed papers.

All proposals must be submitted electronically via the Conference web site. There should be at least two organizers for each minisymposium, and it is desirable that they represent more than one institution. The deadline for minisymposia proposals is June 30, 2019.

MS Registration Page

MS-01:Frontiers of Nonlinear, Impact and Instability Analysis of Solids and Structures

Daigoro Isobe* (University of Tsukuba, Japan), Kostas Danas (École Polytechnique, France), Jinkoo Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea), Yunwei Mao (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA), Dai Okumura (Nagoya University, Japan), Shingo Ozaki (Yokohama National University, Japan), Hiroyuki Yamada (National Defense Academy, Japan)

MS-02:Multiscaling for Safety and Environmental Problems

Akiyuki Takahashi* (Tokyo University of Science, Japan), Yuichi Tadano (Saga University, Japan), Tong-Seok Han (Yonsei University, Korea)

MS-03:Computational Damage and Fracture Analyses on Engineering Structures

Kiminobu Hojo (Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd., Japan), Zhuo Zhuang (Tsinghua University, China), Toshio Nagashima (Sophia University, Japan), Yoshitaka Wada (Kindai University, Japan), X. Fan (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China), Hiroshi Okada* (Tokyo University of Science, Japan)

MS-04:Advances in Impact/Blast Analyses

Masuhiro Beppu* (National Defense Academy, Japan), Akemi Nishida (Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan), Masato Komuro(Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan), Thong Pham (Curtin University, Australia)

MS-05:Structural Optimization for Creating a Better Society

Shintaro Yamasaki* (Osaka University, Japan), Junji Kato (Nagoya University, Japan), Akihiro Takezawa (Hiroshima University, Japan), Gil Ho Yoon (Hanyang University, Korea)

MS-06:Multi-Stage Failure Simulations

Mao Kurumatani*(Ibaraki University, Japan), Yoshihito Yamamoto (Nagoya University, Japan), Kenjiro Terada (Tohoku University, Japan), Norio Takeuchi (Hosei University, Japan), John E Dolbow (Duke University, USA)

MS-07:Resilience of Built Environment against Extreme Disaster

Hideo Fujitani (Kobe University, Japan), Yoichi Mukai* (Kobe University, Japan), Erik A. Johnson (University of Southern California, USA), Richard Christenson (University of Connecticut, USA), Gilberto Mosqueda (University of California San Diego, USA)

MS-08:Computational Methods for Water Environmental Problems and Coastal/Flood Disaster Mitigation

Kazuo Kashiyama (Chuo University, Japan), Joannes Westerink (University of Notre Dame, USA), Ethan Kubatoko (Ohio State University, USA), Seizo Tanaka* (University of Tsukuba, Japan)

MS-09:Numerical Methods and Simulation in Geomechanics (co-organized by Technical Committee 103, ISSMGE; International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering)

Kazunori Fujisawa* (Kyoto University), Shuji Moriguchi (Tohoku University), Giovanna Biscontin (University of Cambridge)

MS-10:High Performance Computing for Environmental Problems

Ryuji Shioya* (Toyo University, Japan), Gabriel Wittum(Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany), Moon Ki Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, Korea), Masao Ogino (Daido University, Japan)

MS-11:Computational Methods and Modeling for Disaster Prevention and Mitigation

Tomonori Yamada* (The University of Tokyo, Japan), Rong Tian (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), Shinobu Yoshimura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

MS-12:Particle Methods for Safety and Engineering Problems

Seiya Hagihara* (Saga University, Japan), Seiichi Koshizuka (The University of Tokyo, Japan),Mikio Sakai(The University of Tokyo, Japan), Shunying Ji (Dalian University of Technology, China)

MS-13:HPC-based Simulations for the Wide Industrial Realm: Aerospace, Automotive, Bio, Construction, Heavy, etc.

Makoto Tsubokura* (RIKEN, Japan), Mariano Vazquez (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain), Takayuki Aoki (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan), Andreas Lintermann (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

MS-14:Advances in Numerical Methods for Earthquake Disaster Mitigation of/in Buildings

Takuzo Yamashita* (National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience, Japan), Yasuyuki Nagano (University of Hyogo, Japan), Makoto Ohsaki (Kyoto University, Japan), Daigoro Isobe (University of Tsukuba, Japan), Peng Pan (Tsinghua University, China), Manolis Papadrakakis (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)

MS-15:Physics-based Simulation of Earthquake Hazards with HPC and HQC

Takane Hori* (Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan), Tsuyoshi Ichimura (The University of Tokyo, Japan), Thorsten Becker (University Texas at Austin, USA), Alice-Agnes Gabriel (LMU Munich, Germany)

MS-16:Computational Materials Science: Phase-Field and Related Methods

Tomohiro Takaki* (Kyoto Institute of Technology, Japan), Damien Tourret (IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain), Munekazu Ohno (Hokkaido University, Japan)

MS-17:Hyper-Complex Disaster Simulation

Mitsuteru Asai* (Kyushu University, Japan), Kenjiro Terada (Tohoku University, Japan), Shinsuke Takase (Hachinohe Institute of Technology, Japan), Roland Wüchner (Technical University of Munich, German), Miguel Ángel Celigueta (Internatinal Centre for Numerical Methods in Engineering, Spain), Antonia Larese De Tetto(University of Padova, Italy)

MS-18:Reliability and Safety of Composite Structures

Masahiro Arai* (Nagoya University, Japan), Tetsuya Matsuda (University of Tsukuba, Japan), Keita Goto (Nagoya University, Japan)

MS-19:Uncertainty Modeling in Engineering Simulation and Biomedical Simulation

Naoki Takano*(Keio University, Japan), Heong Jae Chun (Yonsei University, Korea), Tetsuya Matsuda (University of Tsukuba, Japan), Shinya Yamamoto (Shimizu Corporation, Japan)